1981 monte carlo - Team Forums
Team Forums
Official Sponsor of Chevy Team     
 


All Models not specifically listed

ChevyTeam.com is the premier Chevrolet All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 11-27-2006, 07:59 PM
cliffs1970 cliffs1970 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Default 1981 monte carlo

I recently put a olds 350 in my 81 monte. After hooking everything up, it wont start unless I hotwire it. I know it's probably something simple, but it's driving me nuts.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-28-2006, 09:00 AM
Philip's Avatar
Philip Philip is offline
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Marana, AZ
Posts: 109
Default

Cliff A little more info is needed. When you say you have to hot wire it exactly what is you do? Is it running a wire to the coil, jumping the starter solenoid, both ????



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2006, 03:59 PM
cliffs1970 cliffs1970 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Default

just jumping the solenoid. I was wondering if the neutral safety switch could be bad to cause this.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 11-28-2006, 06:52 PM
Philip's Avatar
Philip Philip is offline
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Marana, AZ
Posts: 109
Default

Check that the heavy gauge wire to the soleniod (usually purple) is on the "S" terminal. Since the Olds starter is on the drivers side it is the one farther away from the block, not the close one like on the Chevy set up. If it is then check to see if there is 12v to it when the switch is in the start position. If not then go to the neutral switch and check for 12v there on both terminals. If you have it on one and not the other than it is a bad or out of adjustment switch.



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-28-2006, 06:54 PM
cliffs1970 cliffs1970 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks, I'll check that. It was an experience putting this motor in, but it does sound good once it is running.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-28-2006, 07:08 PM
Philip's Avatar
Philip Philip is offline
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Marana, AZ
Posts: 109
Default

I'll be doing the same thing soon. I have a 79 Turbo Regal that will be getting an Olds engine. I have both a 403 and a 455, but will probably use the 403 for this project. Did you have any trouble finding the frame plates the mounts bolt to?



Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-29-2006, 01:31 AM
cliffs1970 cliffs1970 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Default

I tried to use the ones from the car that I got the motor out of, but its not quite right, I may have to make some. The donor car was a 78 delta 225.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-02-2006, 07:21 PM
Philip's Avatar
Philip Philip is offline
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Marana, AZ
Posts: 109
Default

Here are the part numbers of the frame plates needed for the G body Olds engine install. The left plate is # 559272 and the right is # 559271. The plates will have letters stamped into them, L for the drivers side and M for the passenger side. Most big cars like your donor use two of the M plates, but some use one L and one M. I hope this helps you. My donor car is a 79 Olds 98 Regency. I haven't pulled the engine yet to see if I am lucky and have the pair I need.



Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-04-2006, 06:34 PM
cliffs1970 cliffs1970 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Default

thanks, that will be the way to go, I hope.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.



AutoForums
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.